Monday, December 6, 2010

The Perfect Book, Part 2

The perfect book is a gift that remains important, year after year, read after read. The perfect book becomes more than just a gift, but an event in the lives of the giver and receiver. The perfect book is the start of a new phase in the life of the receiver. Having trouble finding the perfect book? Never fear. Here is part 2 of our The Perfect Book series. Click here to see Part 1.


Virga (and sequels) by Karl Schroeder: Perfect for fans of steampunk, well-thought-out science fiction, piratey action, and intelligent characters.


Brave New World by Aldous Huxley: Perfect for readers of 1984, fans of "Brazil", and the connoisseur of dystopias.


Yellow Blue Tibia by Adam Roberts: Just the book for lovers of UFO conspiracies, sardonic wit, and Soviet absurdities.


World War Z by Max Brooks: Perfect for fans of Orson Well's War of the Worlds, harrowing stories of survival, and global apocalypse.


Shark vs Train: For the energetic 3-5 year old (boy, most likely) with a rambunctious imagination.


Mulliner Nights by PG Wodehouse: Perfect for lovers of wit, lightness, and joy.


To Serve Them All My Days by R.F. Delderfield: Perfect for fans of Dickens, school novels, and the English countryside.


This Republic of Suffering by Drew Gilpin Faust: Great work of Civil War history for the American history buff and/or fan of Mary Roach’s Stiff


A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz: Perfect for the rebellious teenager trying to figure out a world that just doesn’t make sense.

No comments:

Blog Archive