Friday, January 14, 2011

Featured SF/F Author: Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card is best know as the author of Ender's Game, which along with its sequel Speaker for the Dead won both the Nebula Award and the Hugo Award. He went on to write 10 Ender novels, one short story collection, and there is at least one more novel forthcoming. The chronology of the novels are a bit complicated. As a public service I'll list the chronology (and pub. date) of the novels here:

* Ender's Game (1985), Ender's Shadow (1999), and A War of Gifts (2007) all take place at the same time and should probably be read in this order.

* Xenocide (1991)

? Shadows in Flight (forthcoming)

Card's other award-winning series is The Tales of Alvin Maker, an alternate history of the American frontier heavily influenced by American myths and folklore. Unlike the Ender books the Maker novels are chronological published. They are: Seventh Son, Red Prophet, Prentice Alvin, Alvin Journeyman, Heartfire, The Crystal City, and Master Alvin (forthcoming).

A prolific author, Card has written many other books and short stories including The Homecoming Saga, the Hidden Empire books (as author and editor), The Women of Genesis, and many others.

His newest books Pathfinder and The Lost Gate both concern young men who, like Ender, must master their unique gifts. They are cross-over young adult novels.

On a sadder note, Orson Scott Card suffered a mild stroke on January 1st, 2011. He is now recovering at home.

No comments:

Blog Archive